Day of Learning 2

October 12, 2021 11:30 am (EST) - October 12, 2021 7:30 pm (EST)

The Presbyterian Foundation is pleased to offer a second Day of Learning with presentations focused on the stewardship of church property. There will be time for questions and answers. Join us October 12 for this FREE virtual learning opportunity focused on Managing and Stewarding Church Property.

Schedule

11:30 am ET/8:30 am PT – Maggie Harmon will present The Value of Vision: How do you get where you’re going if you don’t know where it is that you want to go? And how do you make sure you have the resources you need to get there? Making sure you have a clear vision for your congregation provides the structure you need to assess and align your resources for the most effective ministry. This workshop will help you define your vision as a core purpose, distinguish that from mission and goals so you can focus your ministry in the areas you are called to serve, and give you tools to take back to your congregation to help in understanding what resources you need to ensure continued viability.

2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT – Olanda Carr and Robert Hay will share Options for Repurposing Church Property: In this workshop, we will review various options to consider when repurposing your church property. An overview of church partnerships, rental opportunities to consider, conversion/reinvention, and parcel sales will be provided, with careful attention being placed on the amount of time, energy, and resources required for each. Additional time will be allocated to discernment processes, including beginning steps and resources.

5:30 pm ET/2:30 pm PT – Paul Grier will share Understanding Financial Implications for Property Transition: During this presentation, attendees will learn about various types of property-specific information that must be gathered, recommendations for the sequence of work, and how a careful analysis can be undertaken to maximize the financial or missional benefit to the church when considering repurposing options. We will consider the impact of potential changes in property taxation, together with realistic assessments of the marketability of the property and required market exposure time as well as compliance and impacts from civil and PC(USA) requirements.

Registration for this event is now closed.